COMPANIES · AI CHIPS & NETWORKING
Corning
In the AI Economy Index: Major, 0.45% (as of 2 October 2026)
Corning is a materials-science company that makes optical fiber, cable and connectivity products, display glass, Gorilla Glass for phones, automotive and life-science products, and related materials.
Corning is a materials-science company that makes optical fiber, cable and connectivity products, display glass, Gorilla Glass for phones, automotive and life-science products, and related materials.
AI data centers need vast amounts of optical fiber and connectivity, and Corning's Optical Communications business is its largest segment. In 2026 it announced an up-to-$6 billion multiyear supply agreement with Meta and a long-term manufacturing partnership with NVIDIA to expand US optical connectivity capacity.
Telecom carriers, hyperscalers and enterprise network builders pay it for fiber, cable and connectivity; display, phone, automotive and life-science companies buy its glass and materials.
United States (Corning, New York)
AI chips and networking. The companies designing the processors, accelerators and networking equipment that do the actual computing behind AI, including GPUs like NVIDIA's, and the high-speed connections that link thousands of them together.
Connections (8)
Every connection below is tied to a readable source, date, classification and statement of its limits. A company source establishes what that company stated; it does not necessarily provide independent confirmation.
Dated or announced (4)
Source: 2026-05-06 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced; not confirmed operating
Limits: Announcement of plans; no contract value, volumes, equity terms, or completion dates for the new facilities were disclosed.
NVIDIA and Corning Announce Long-Term Partnership To Strengthen U.S. Manufacturing for AI Infrastructure ↗Source: 2026-03-31 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Agreement announced; facility under construction
Limits: 'Up to' $6 billion is a ceiling, not confirmed spending; does not establish delivered volumes, timing, or exclusivity.
Corning and Meta Celebrate Start of Construction on Cable Manufacturing Expansion in North Carolina to Support AI Buildout ↗Source: 2026-03-11 · reviewed 2026-10-02
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced; not confirmed operating
Limits: Industry specification effort announced by America Fujikura Ltd. (AFL); the release names AFL but does not itself state Fujikura's ownership of AFL. Does not establish commercial products, supply contracts, or any revenue between the parties.
Fiber Optics Industry Leaders Announce Collaboration to Define a New Multicore Fiber Design (AFL) ↗Source: 2026-03-11 · reviewed 2026-10-02
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced; not confirmed operating
Limits: Industry specification effort only; does not establish commercial products, supply contracts, or revenue between Sumitomo Electric and Corning.
Fiber Optics Industry Leaders Announce Collaboration to Define a New Multicore Fiber Design (AFL) ↗Comparisons (4)
Source: 2026-07-21 · reviewed 2026-10-02
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Product/market overlap
Limits: Trade-press framing of overlapping fiber businesses; does not establish market shares or head-to-head contract wins or losses.
Molex and Prysmian enter fiber AI data center supply pact ↗Source: 2026-06-09 · reviewed 2026-10-02
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Product/market overlap
Limits: Market overlap only; does not establish relative market share, pricing, or that the two compete for any specific customer.
Fujikura raises AI data centre cable prices as supply tightens (The Next Web) ↗Source: 2026-03-12 · reviewed 2026-10-02
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Product/market overlap
Limits: Editorial comparison of overlapping product lines; the cited Furukawa release does not name Corning, and this does not establish market share or head-to-head customer wins. The cited source describes only Furukawa Electric (via its group company Lightera)'s products; the overlap with Corning is an editorial comparison not stated in the source.
Start of mass production of 13824 count optical fiber cable (Furukawa Electric) ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-10-02
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Product/market overlap
Limits: Editorial comparison; the cited YOFC page does not name Corning. Does not establish market share, overlap in specific customers, or that they compete in the same regions. The cited source describes only YOFC's products; the overlap with Corning is an editorial comparison not stated in the source.
Company Profile (YOFC) ↗Inclusion in this database is not an endorsement of a company or its securities. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and none of it is individualized investment advice. See the disclosures. Data: AI Map v3.25.45, released .