COMPANIES · FINANCIAL & INVESTMENT
SoftBank Group
Japanese holding company that invests in and finances technology businesses, including large stakes in OpenAI and Arm, and co-develops AI data-center infrastructure through the Stargate project.
Japanese holding company that invests in and finances technology businesses, including large stakes in OpenAI and Arm, and co-develops AI data-center infrastructure through the Stargate project.
It is one of the largest single financial backers of frontier AI, using its balance sheet to fund both AI labs (OpenAI) and the physical infrastructure (Stargate data centers) they run on.
Earns returns on its technology investment portfolio; also arranges debt and equity financing for AI infrastructure projects.
Japan
Financial and investment. The investors and financial firms whose capital is funding the AI buildout. These companies don't build AI technology themselves — they supply the enormous amounts of money it takes to build everything else on this map.
Same-layer peers share an editorial stack classification; that alone does not establish direct competition.
Connections (9)
Every connection below is tied to a readable source, date, classification and statement of its limits. A company source establishes what that company stated; it does not necessarily provide independent confirmation.
Current relationships (3)
Source: 2026-02-25 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Wayve's own release. It does not state SoftBank's share of the round, its ownership percentage, or any board or governance rights.
Wayve secures $1.5B to deploy its global autonomy platform ↗Source: 2026-01-15 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported operating
Limits: Trade reporting of a funding announcement. It does not establish how much of the round SoftBank provided, the ownership percentage acquired, any board seat, or any commercial relationship between the two companies.
Skild AI raises $1.4B, building 'omni-bodied' robot Skild Brain ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Active joint venture
Limits: Confirms a joint venture was announced; does not disclose the venture's current operating status, financial structure, or ownership split.
SoftBank launches healthcare venture with Tempus AI ↗Dated or announced (6)
Source: 2026-08-26 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported in-progress negotiation, not confirmed complete, August 2026
Limits: This is a reported negotiation, not a confirmed or closed transaction; deal terms, final valuation and whether it closes at all remain unconfirmed by either company.
SoftBank eyes $6B 1X deal as humanoid robot race accelerates ↗Source: 2026-02-24 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced
Limits: This is a deployment agreement specifically with SoftBank Corp. (the operating telecom subsidiary), not confirmed as an investment or agreement by SoftBank Group's holding company or its Vision Fund; it does not disclose contract value or delivered volumes.
SambaNova Unveils Fastest Chip for Agentic AI, Collaborates with Intel, and Raises $350M+ ↗Source: 2025-12-31 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Second closing completed December 26, 2025; investment reported completed per SoftBank's December 31, 2025 release.
Limits: Reflects SoftBank's own disclosed completion of this tranche; does not establish a current total ownership percentage of OpenAI.
Completion of additional $22.5 billion investment in OpenAI ↗Source: 2025-10-08 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced; not confirmed operating
Limits: An agreement announced by ABB. It does not establish that the sale has completed, that regulatory approvals were obtained, the final price paid, or how the division will be operated under SoftBank ownership.
ABB to divest Robotics division to SoftBank Group ↗Source: 2025-09-24 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced plan
Limits: Site-selection and buildout announcement; does not establish which sites are operating or their current capacity.
OpenAI, Oracle and SoftBank expand Stargate with five new AI data center sites ↗Source: 2025-09-23 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Historical / announced
Limits: Does not establish that all announced sites are operational -- several are under construction or planned -- and the $300B figure is a multi-year infrastructure commitment, not money already spent.
OpenAI, Oracle, and SoftBank expand Stargate with five new AI data center sites ↗Inclusion in this database is not an endorsement of a company or its securities. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and none of it is individualized investment advice. See the disclosures. Data: AI Map v3.22, released .