COMPANIES · FOUNDATION MODELS
OpenAI
Develops AI models and products such as ChatGPT; its commercial company is controlled by the OpenAI Foundation.
Develops AI models and products such as ChatGPT; its commercial company is controlled by the OpenAI Foundation.
It created ChatGPT and is one of the two or three organizations setting the pace of frontier AI capability, with outsized influence on compute demand across the industry.
Sells subscriptions, API access and enterprise products built on its AI models; also generates revenue from partnerships.
United States
Foundation models and AI laboratories. The organizations actually building the AI models themselves, like the systems behind ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini. This is the most crowded, fastest-moving layer of the AI economy right now.
Connections (54)
Every connection below is tied to a readable source, date, classification and statement of its limits. A company source establishes what that company stated; it does not necessarily provide independent confirmation.
Current relationships (9)
Source: 2026-04-27 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Describes contractual terms as of April 2026, not usage. It does not establish what share of OpenAI traffic runs on Azure, and it explicitly removes the earlier cloud exclusivity, so it should not be read as an exclusive arrangement.
The next phase of the Microsoft OpenAI partnership ↗Source: 2025-12-09 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Active multi-model product relationship
Limits: Confirms model availability inside Cursor's product; does not disclose the current usage split between OpenAI, Anthropic, and Cursor's own models, or any commercial terms.
Why Cursor's CEO believes OpenAI, Anthropic competition won't crush his startup ↗Source: 2025-11-17 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Under construction, full completion targeted mid-2026
Limits: The announcement covers construction progress and confirms Crusoe's developer/landlord role for the Abilene campus; it does not disclose lease value, contract length, or establish a separate bilateral lease contract directly with OpenAI distinct from the Crusoe-Oracle tenancy documented in R129. Developer, landlord, compute provider (Oracle) and end user (OpenAI) are kept distinct per the project's evidence standard.
Crusoe tops out final building at OpenAI Stargate data center campus in Abilene, Texas ↗Source: 2025-08-05 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Covers two open-weight models only and implies no commercial arrangement or payment between OpenAI and Hugging Face. It says nothing about OpenAI's proprietary GPT models, which are not distributed this way.
Introducing gpt-oss ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: This confirms LangChain's software supports calling OpenAI models; it does not establish a commercial or investment relationship between the two companies, or that OpenAI endorses or sponsors LangChain.
Model providers - Docs by LangChain ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Active technology-customer relationship
Limits: This is a vendor case study; it does not disclose exclusivity, the current share of Harvey's workloads running on OpenAI models, or contract value.
Customizing models for legal professionals ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Completed funding round
Limits: Confirms participation in a funding round; does not disclose investment amount, resulting ownership percentage, or board rights.
Harvey Raises Series C from Google Ventures, OpenAI, Kleiner Perkins, Sequoia Capital, Elad Gil, and SV Angel ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Active multiyear partnership
Limits: Confirms an announced multiyear partnership; does not disclose the financial terms of the agreement or make ServiceNow exclusively dependent on OpenAI models.
OpenAI, ServiceNow Enter Into Strategic Multiyear Partnership ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Covers only OpenAI's open-weight GPT-OSS release, not its proprietary GPT models; does not establish exclusivity or that OpenAI otherwise relies on AWS infrastructure.
OpenAI's GPT OSS models available in Amazon Bedrock and Amazon SageMaker AI ↗Dated or announced (31)
Source: 2026-09-10 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Announced / planned
Limits: Samsung declined to confirm or deny customer-specific details; whether Samsung will manufacture OpenAI's logic chips (versus just supplying HBM samples) is unconfirmed and raised only as a possibility tied to Samsung's separate Broadcom foundry MOU.
OpenAI Adds Samsung Foundry to Its Silicon Program, Closing TSMC-Only Risk ↗Source: 2026-08-17 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported finalized August 17, 2026; supersedes the July 2026 talks-stage figure in R070 as the deal's actual outcome, not a correction to it.
Limits: Based on CNBC/Axios reporting citing sources rather than a joint NVIDIA-OpenAI primary statement; the primary CNBC URL could not be directly re-fetched during this audit (returned a bot-protection error) though its content is corroborated by multiple independent outlets. Does not establish final, fully-confirmed terms.
Nvidia's financing for OpenAI's Ohio data center reportedly set at $105 billion ↗Source: 2026-07-27 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported in talks, unconfirmed
Limits: Based on press reporting (CNBC, citing the Wall Street Journal); neither NVIDIA nor OpenAI had issued a primary confirming statement as of the report date. Included to show the proposed $100 billion deal's status continuing to evolve, not as a confirmed commitment.
Nvidia and OpenAI in talks for up to $250 billion backstop to fund AI infrastructure plans ↗Source: 2026-06-24 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced; not confirmed operating
Limits: Announcement of a chip and a deployment target. It does not establish that any Jalapeno units have been produced or installed, the volumes or prices involved, or that Broadcom is OpenAI's only silicon partner.
OpenAI and Broadcom unveil LLM-optimized inference chip ↗Source: 2026-02-25 · reviewed 2026-09-21
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported investment, February 2026
Limits: Based on a single media report citing an unnamed source; neither Thrive Capital nor OpenAI has confirmed the amount or valuation on the record. Thrive was also OpenAI's sole investor in a separate, much smaller 2022 round, so this is one of several distinct Thrive-OpenAI investments, not the whole relationship.
Thrive Capital invested about $1 billion in OpenAI at a $285 billion valuation, source says ↗Source: 2026-02-02 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Announced
Limits: This confirms the reported deal size and product integration; it does not prove exclusivity or disclose usage volumes flowing through the partnership since it was announced.
Snowflake, OpenAI ink $200 million multi-year partnership ↗Source: 2026-01-14 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported signed deal; not confirmed via a joint OpenAI/Cerebras press release as of the review date
Limits: Based on media reporting citing people familiar with the matter; deal value, contract length and delivery schedule are not independently confirmed by an OpenAI or Cerebras statement.
Cerebras scores OpenAI deal worth over $10 billion ahead of AI chipmaker's IPO ↗Source: 2025-12-31 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Second closing completed December 26, 2025; investment reported completed per SoftBank's December 31, 2025 release.
Limits: Reflects SoftBank's own disclosed completion of this tranche; does not establish a current total ownership percentage of OpenAI.
Completion of additional $22.5 billion investment in OpenAI ↗Source: 2025-12-02 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Status update reported
Limits: The CFO's remarks were made on the record at a financial conference; this record relies on DataCenterDynamics's report of them rather than a company press release, transcript or webcast we have located. Reclassified in V2.1 from 'Primary-source statement' to a distinct evidence class once it was flagged that the field did not match this caveat. Supersedes R016 as the most current confirmed status at the time of this audit.
NVIDIA CFO says $100bn OpenAI deal has yet to complete ↗Source: 2025-11-21 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced collaboration, no purchase commitment yet per both parties
Limits: Both companies state the agreement does not include purchase commitments; OpenAI holds only an option to evaluate and purchase resulting systems, so no current supply volume or revenue is established.
Hon Hai Technology Group (Foxconn) and OpenAI Collaborate To Strengthen U.S. Manufacturing Across AI Supply Chain ↗Source: 2025-11-03 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced; not confirmed operating
Limits: A contract announcement with a deployment target. It does not establish how much capacity is live today, how much OpenAI has paid, or that the $38 billion figure reflects committed minimums rather than expected spend.
AWS and OpenAI announce multi-year strategic partnership ↗Source: 2025-10-28 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Historical / announced
Limits: Does not establish that the $250 billion has been spent, only contracted; OpenAI now also sources compute from AWS, Oracle, Google Cloud and CoreWeave.
OpenAI completes for-profit move, Microsoft given 27% stake and $250bn Azure contract but no longer has cloud right of first refusal ↗Source: 2025-10-13 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Definitive collaboration announced; deployment phased 2026-2029
Limits: Confirms a signed co-development and deployment plan; does not confirm current shipped accelerator volume, contract dollar value, or exclusivity.
OpenAI and Broadcom announce strategic collaboration to deploy 10 gigawatts of OpenAI-designed AI accelerators ↗Source: 2025-10-06 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Definitive agreement announced; first tranche (1GW MI450) targeted for H2 2026 deployment
Limits: Confirms a signed commercial agreement and associated warrant; does not confirm completed deployment, delivered GPU volumes, or OpenAI's total realized compute spend.
AMD and OpenAI announce strategic partnership to deploy 6 gigawatts of AMD GPUs ↗Source: 2025-10-01 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced; not confirmed operating
Limits: A stated production target announced alongside letters of intent, not a purchase order. It does not establish that any wafers have been produced or delivered for Stargate, the price, the split between SK hynix and Samsung, or that the target has been met.
Samsung and SK join OpenAI's Stargate initiative to advance global AI infrastructure ↗Source: 2025-09-25 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Contract expansion announced
Limits: Dated announced contract value, not recognized revenue, delivered capacity or current remaining backlog.
CoreWeave expands OpenAI agreement ↗Source: 2025-09-25 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced
Limits: This confirms the announced product integration; it does not disclose contract value, exclusivity, or the volume of OpenAI model usage flowing through Databricks since launch.
Databricks and OpenAI Launch Groundbreaking Partnership to Bring Frontier Intelligence to Enterprises with Databricks Agent Bricks ↗Source: 2025-09-24 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced plan
Limits: Site-selection and buildout announcement; does not establish which sites are operating or their current capacity.
OpenAI, Oracle and SoftBank expand Stargate with five new AI data center sites ↗Source: 2025-09-23 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced plan
Limits: Adds Oracle's specific role in Stargate beyond the 2024 Azure-capacity arrangement already recorded in R019; does not establish current operating capacity. Source date corrected in V2.1 to match OpenAI's own byline (September 23, 2025) on the cited page; SoftBank's own parallel release of the same news (cited in R067) carries SoftBank's date of September 24, 2025 -- the two companies published a day apart, which is not an error in either record.
OpenAI, Oracle and SoftBank expand Stargate with five new AI data center sites ↗Source: 2025-09-22 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Letter of intent
Limits: Historical proposal. Final terms and current deployment status need a newer source.
OpenAI and NVIDIA letter of intent ↗Source: 2025-09-22 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Letter of intent
Limits: Not $100 billion paid or an unconditional completed investment. Current terms require rechecking.
OpenAI and NVIDIA letter of intent ↗Source: 2025-06-18 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Discontinuing as of June 2025, per reporting that includes OpenAI's own characterization of its reduced reliance
Limits: Does not establish original contract value, start date of the OpenAI-Scale AI relationship, or the exact date data-labeling work fully ended.
OpenAI is winding down its work with Scale AI, whose founder is joining Meta ↗Source: 2025-05-22 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced; not confirmed operating
Limits: A consortium announcement with a capacity target. It does not establish that any Cisco equipment has been ordered or installed, the contract value, or that the 200 MW first phase was delivered.
Cisco Joins Stargate UAE Initiative ↗Source: 2025-03-10 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Contract announced
Limits: Initial March 2025 agreement only. Not current total backlog, recognized revenue or delivered capacity.
CoreWeave agreement with OpenAI ↗Source: 2025-03-10 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Equity issuance announced
Limits: Do not describe the stock issuance as a cash investment or proof of a current holding.
CoreWeave agreement with OpenAI ↗Source: 2025-01-21 · reviewed 2026-09-21
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced as initial equity funder, January 2025
Limits: Individual funders' specific contribution amounts are not disclosed; only the collective $500B/$100B figures are given.
Announcing the Stargate Project ↗Source: 2024-11-04 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Completed funding round, November 2024
Limits: The source does not disclose OpenAI's exact investment amount within the $400 million round, resulting ownership percentage, or any product/technology integration between the two companies.
Jeff Bezos and OpenAI invest in robot startup Physical Intelligence at $2.4 billion valuation ↗Source: 2024-06-11 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Contract announced
Limits: Captures the 2024 arrangement, not all later Oracle or Stargate contracts.
OpenAI selects Oracle capacity through Azure ↗Source: 2024-06-11 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Contract announced
Limits: Not evidence of exclusivity or the current full cloud contract.
OpenAI selects Oracle capacity through Azure ↗Source: 2024-01-11 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Completed funding rounds, 2023-2024
Limits: The source does not disclose OpenAI's exact investment amount, current ownership stake, or whether OpenAI remains an active investor given its own in-house robotics efforts.
1X Secures $100M in Series B Funding ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-21
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Ongoing portfolio holding, multiple rounds
Limits: The portfolio page does not disclose specific round dates or amounts; per-round detail was not independently verified for this record.
Founders Fund portfolio ↗Comparisons (14)
Source: 2026-08-12 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Reported operating
Limits: Reflects overlapping product categories and press characterization, not a market-share or revenue comparison.
Google DeepMind: Koray Kavukcuoglu takes over in frontier AI push ↗Source: 2026-07-17 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Reported operating
Limits: Benchmark performance comparisons do not establish market share, revenue, or overall product superiority.
Who is Zhilin Yang? Head of Moonshot AI in focus as Kimi K3 closes gap on US models ↗Source: 2026-07-07 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Product/market overlap
Limits: A market-overlap comparison drawn from trade analysis, not from either company. It does not measure relative market share, revenue, model quality or customer switching, and neither party has stated that it competes with the other.
SpaceXAI wants to compete on AI infrastructure, not just AI models ↗Source: 2025-12-09 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Product/market overlap
Limits: Survey-based estimates from a venture firm that invests in the sector, covering enterprise API spending only. They are not audited revenue figures and say nothing about consumer products, compute costs or profitability.
2025: The State of Generative AI in the Enterprise ↗Source: 2025-10-06 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Product/market overlap
Limits: A benchmark comparison on one coding test as of October 2025, not a commercial relationship and not a general capability ranking. Benchmark scores change with each model release and do not establish market share, revenue or developer adoption.
Meta Llama: Everything you need to know about the open generative AI model ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Reported operating
Limits: Based on overlapping product categories (general-purpose LLMs), not on a market-share or revenue comparison.
DeepSeek | Rise, Technologies, Impact, & Global Response ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Reported operating
Limits: SSI has released no public product to directly compare against OpenAI's; this reflects overlapping research goals rather than product-market competition.
Safe Superintelligence Inc. ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Ongoing
Limits: Does not establish market share or revenue comparison.
Character.AI company overview ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Ongoing
Limits: Does not establish market share or revenue comparison.
Runway company overview ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Ongoing
Limits: Does not establish market share or revenue comparison.
Black Forest Labs company overview ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Ongoing
Limits: Does not establish market share or revenue comparison.
ElevenLabs company overview ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Ongoing
Limits: Does not establish market share, revenue comparison, or performance benchmarking.
Z.ai ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Ongoing
Limits: Does not establish market share or revenue comparison.
MiniMax (company) ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Ongoing market competition
Limits: Reflects third-party product comparisons, not a statement by either company; does not establish market share or relative performance.
OpenAI Codex vs Devin (2026): Which is Better? ↗OpenAI structure ↗
Reviewed
Inclusion in this database is not an endorsement of a company or its securities. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and none of it is individualized investment advice. See the disclosures. Data: AI Map v3.22, released .