COMPANIES · AI CHIPS & NETWORKING
AMD
Designs CPUs, GPUs and AI accelerators and provides supporting software.
Designs CPUs, GPUs and AI accelerators and provides supporting software.
It is NVIDIA's closest direct competitor in data-center GPUs, giving cloud providers and AI labs a second major source of AI accelerators.
Sells CPUs, GPUs and AI accelerator chips, plus related software, mainly to PC makers, data centers and cloud providers.
United States
AI chips and networking. The companies designing the processors, accelerators and networking equipment that do the actual computing behind AI, including GPUs like NVIDIA's, and the high-speed connections that link thousands of them together.
Connections (22)
Every connection below is tied to a readable source, date, classification and statement of its limits. A company source establishes what that company stated; it does not necessarily provide independent confirmation.
Current relationships (13)
Source: 2026-08-12 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported operating
Limits: Press reporting, not a joint statement from TSMC or AMD naming the arrangement; discloses no contract terms, wafer volumes, or exclusivity.
TSMC Revenue Surges 45% as AI Chip Demand From Nvidia, AMD, and Apple ↗Source: 2026-07-27 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Active collaboration announced; AMD described as testing/evaluating the workflows, not yet full production deployment
Limits: Confirms AMD is testing these specific agentic workflows with an on-record AMD executive quote; does not establish exclusivity, contract value, or that AMD uses Synopsys tools for all of its chip designs.
Synopsys Advances Agentic AI Chip Design with AMD and Microsoft ↗Source: 2026-07-27 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: AMD describes this as active evaluation, not confirmed production deployment; no financial terms are disclosed.
Synopsys Advances Agentic AI Chip Design with AMD and Microsoft ↗Source: 2026-07-23 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Describes a published reference design, not a supply contract; does not establish order volumes, which data centers will use it, or financial terms.
Schneider Electric and AMD release first Helios platform reference design to accelerate AI Factory deployment ↗Source: 2026-05-21 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Active partnership as of May 2026 reporting; new Arizona packaging campus targeted to begin production in 2028
Limits: Based on Reuters reporting with an on-record Amkor CEO quote; does not disclose contract terms, packaging volumes, or which specific AMD products are involved.
Amkor working with AMD on advanced packaging after acquiring more land in Arizona ↗Source: 2025-10-13 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Confirms a UALink engineering collaboration; does not establish shipping volumes or which specific rack deployments use both companies' products.
Astera Labs Showcases Rack-Scale AI Ecosystem Momentum at OCP Global Summit ↗Source: 2025-06-13 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Active as of AMD's June 2025 confirmation
Limits: Based on media reporting of AMD's own public statement; does not disclose shipment volumes, pricing, or the relative split between Samsung and Micron as suppliers.
Samsung supplies HBM3E to AMD's new accelerators ↗Source: 2025-06-12 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Active, shipping design-in as of mid-2025
Limits: Confirms design-in and product integration with on-record quotes from both companies; does not disclose purchase volumes, contract value, or Micron's share of AMD's total HBM sourcing versus Samsung.
Micron HBM Designed into Leading AMD AI Platform ↗Source: 2024-10-10 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Current product line; general availability targeted Q1 2025
Limits: The release describes product specifications and benchmark claims; it does not disclose actual customer orders, shipment volumes, or revenue attributable to AMD-based HPE systems.
HPE launches new purpose-built solutions – powered by AMD – to accelerate training for large, complex AI models ↗Source: 2024-10-10 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Current product line
Limits: The release covers product specifications and benchmark claims; it does not disclose unit sales, named customers, or revenue tied to AMD-based ThinkSystem servers.
Lenovo Provides Unmatched Performance with New ThinkSystem Support for AMD Processors ↗Source: 2024-09-26 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Does not establish purchase volumes or pricing; Oracle's GPU fleet remains predominantly Nvidia-based.
AMD Instinct MI300X Accelerators Available on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure for Demanding AI Applications ↗Source: 2024-05-21 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Does not establish volumes purchased or that MI300X is Azure's primary AI accelerator, which remains predominantly Nvidia GPUs.
AMD Instinct MI300X Accelerators Power Microsoft Azure OpenAI Service Workloads and New Azure ND MI300X V5 VMs ↗Source: 2023-12-06 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Current product line
Limits: The release describes product support and specifications; it does not disclose sales volume, named customers, or the proportion of Supermicro servers shipped with AMD versus NVIDIA accelerators.
Supermicro Extends AI and GPU Rack Scale Solutions with Support for AMD Instinct MI300 Series Accelerators ↗Dated or announced (7)
Source: 2026-07-22 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Definitive capacity-deployment and investment agreement announced; not yet fully installed
Limits: Confirms a signed agreement and capacity target; does not confirm current live GPU count, revenue recognized, or exclusivity of Anthropic's compute sourcing.
AMD and Anthropic Announce Strategic Partnership to Deploy Up to 2 Gigawatts of AMD Instinct MI450 Series GPUs ↗Source: 2026-06-17 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported talks
Limits: Preliminary, unconfirmed discussions per anonymous sourcing; not a signed agreement, and no process node, volume, or timeline beyond '2028' is confirmed.
Samsung Foundry Reportedly in Talks with AMD for 2028 CPU Production as BYD, Google Consider Its Services ↗Source: 2026-02-24 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced; not confirmed operating
Limits: An announcement of intended deployment measured in gigawatts, not units or delivered revenue. It does not establish that any MI540 systems have been installed, what Meta will actually pay, or the terms and likelihood of vesting of the share warrant AMD issued to Meta.
AMD and Meta Announce Expanded Strategic Partnership to Deploy 6 Gigawatts of AMD GPUs ↗Source: 2026-02-03 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced
Limits: Does not disclose AMD's individual investment amount or resulting ownership percentage.
Cerebras Raises $1.1 Billion at $8.1 Billion Valuation ↗Source: 2025-10-14 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Deployment announced for 2026 start; framed as an expanding, ongoing scale-out
Limits: Confirms a planned deployment commitment; does not confirm number of GPUs currently live, customer usage on the cluster, or contract value.
Oracle and AMD Expand Partnership to Help Customers Achieve Next-Generation AI Scale ↗Source: 2025-10-06 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Definitive agreement announced; first tranche (1GW MI450) targeted for H2 2026 deployment
Limits: Confirms a signed commercial agreement and associated warrant; does not confirm completed deployment, delivered GPU volumes, or OpenAI's total realized compute spend.
AMD and OpenAI announce strategic partnership to deploy 6 gigawatts of AMD GPUs ↗Source: 2025-06-12 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Reported purchase commitment; facility expected online fall 2025
Limits: Terms come from the CEO's on-record comments as reported by the press, not a joint Crusoe-AMD release; final chip count, delivery schedule, and payment terms are not independently confirmed by AMD.
Exclusive-'Neocloud' Crusoe to buy $400 million worth of AMD chips for AI data centers ↗Comparisons (2)
Source: 2025-10-27 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Ongoing market competition
Limits: Reflects analyst/press framing of market overlap, not a statement by either company; does not establish market share, revenue impact, or head-to-head customer wins.
Qualcomm Debuts AI200 and AI250 Chips as It Moves Into AI Infrastructure ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Product comparison
Limits: Analyst classification, not a bilateral agreement. NVIDIA platform evidence is also in R007.
AMD Instinct product page ↗AMD Instinct product page ↗
Reviewed
Inclusion in this database is not an endorsement of a company or its securities. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and none of it is individualized investment advice. See the disclosures. Data: AI Map v3.22, released .