COMPANIES · CLOUD & COMPUTE
Microsoft
Provides cloud, productivity and software platforms, including Azure AI infrastructure.
Provides cloud, productivity and software platforms, including Azure AI infrastructure.
Its Azure cloud is the exclusive-at-launch home for many OpenAI models and a major venue for enterprise AI adoption.
Sells cloud computing, software and services, including AI infrastructure and AI-enabled products such as Copilot.
United States
Cloud and specialized AI compute providers. The companies that buy up AI infrastructure and rent out computing power to AI developers and businesses. This is how most companies access AI computing without building their own data centers.
Connections (36)
Every connection below is tied to a readable source, date, classification and statement of its limits. A company source establishes what that company stated; it does not necessarily provide independent confirmation.
Current relationships (19)
Source: 2026-08-26 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: A product document. It does not disclose the revenue split between Microsoft and SpaceXAI, usage volumes, the length of the agreement, or whether Microsoft trains or fine-tunes anything. Several of the listed models are marked preview.
Deploy and use Grok models in Microsoft Foundry ↗Source: 2026-07-27 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Describes an evaluation-stage platform collaboration; does not disclose revenue, licensing terms, or production usage by Microsoft's own chip teams.
Synopsys Advances Agentic AI Chip Design with AMD and Microsoft ↗Source: 2026-07-23 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Active cloud/technology partnership
Limits: Confirms a technology and customer relationship; does not establish exclusivity or the specific terms of any commercial agreement.
Harvey Deepens Microsoft Relationship ↗Source: 2026-07-23 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Does not establish the financial terms of the partnership or exclusivity; Databricks also runs on AWS and Google Cloud.
Databricks and Microsoft expand partnership to help enterprises bring business context to enterprise AI ↗Source: 2026-07-21 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Active as of joint announcement, described as an expansion of an existing partnership
Limits: Describes an infrastructure and product-integration commitment; does not itself establish an equity stake, ownership percentage, or specific dollar figure.
Microsoft and Mistral expand strategic partnership to give enterprises and regulated industries frontier AI they can control ↗Source: 2026-06-29 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Does not establish exclusivity; Claude models are also distributed via AWS Bedrock and Google Vertex AI.
Claude in Microsoft Foundry is now generally available ↗Source: 2026-04-27 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Describes contractual terms as of April 2026, not usage. It does not establish what share of OpenAI traffic runs on Azure, and it explicitly removes the earlier cloud exclusivity, so it should not be read as an exclusive arrangement.
The next phase of the Microsoft OpenAI partnership ↗Source: 2026-02-25 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Wayve's own release. It does not state the amount, the stake acquired, or that Wayve trains its models on Microsoft Azure.
Wayve secures $1.5B to deploy its global autonomy platform ↗Source: 2026-01-27 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported operating
Limits: Does not confirm order volumes or exclusivity; TSMC does not comment on individual customers, and Microsoft's own materials do not name the foundry.
Microsoft Unveils Maia 200 AI Chip on TSMC 3nm; SK hynix Reportedly Sole HBM3E Supplier ↗Source: 2025-11-18 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Azure M-series with Leo CXL controllers was in private preview as of this release, not general availability; does not establish deal value or exclusivity.
Astera Labs' Leo CXL Smart Memory Controllers on Microsoft Azure M-series Virtual Machines Overcome the Memory Wall ↗Source: 2025-04-24 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Describes interconnection infrastructure only; does not establish revenue, exclusivity, or volume of Azure traffic carried.
Digital Realty Deploys Three Microsoft Azure ExpressRoute Cloud On-Ramps ↗Source: 2025-04-05 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Establishes catalog availability on Microsoft's platform as of April 2025 only. It does not establish revenue sharing, which later Llama versions are carried, usage levels, or any exclusivity.
Introducing the Llama 4 herd in Azure AI Foundry and Azure Databricks ↗Source: 2024-05-21 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Does not establish volumes purchased or that MI300X is Azure's primary AI accelerator, which remains predominantly Nvidia GPUs.
AMD Instinct MI300X Accelerators Power Microsoft Azure OpenAI Service Workloads and New Azure ND MI300X V5 VMs ↗Source: 2024-04-15 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported ongoing standardization collaboration as of April 2024
Limits: Describes a technical standards collaboration, not a commercial supply or revenue relationship; does not establish current implementation status.
Siemens and Microsoft to converge Digital Twin Definition Language with W3C Thing Description Standard ↗Source: 2022-03-30 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Describes a cloud-hosting and go-to-market partnership; does not disclose revenue share, contract length, or Azure capacity reserved for Synopsys Cloud.
Accelerate silicon design innovation on Azure with Synopsys Cloud ↗Source: 2017-03-13 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Reported operating
Limits: Describes one specific hardware co-design shown at OCP Summit 2017; does not establish an ongoing exclusive relationship or current-day product usage at Microsoft data centers.
OCP Summit: Schneider and Microsoft team up on a distributed PDU ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Product documented
Limits: General current product documentation; no contract value or exclusivity inferred.
Azure ND-family GPU virtual machines ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Active technology partnership
Limits: Confirms an announced partnership; does not disclose contract value or exclusivity.
ServiceNow expands AI agent governance through deeper integration with Microsoft ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Current, in-market Azure VM offering
Limits: Confirms Astera Labs' controllers are used in a specific Azure VM family; does not disclose deal value, purchase volume, or exclusivity.
Astera Labs' Leo CXL Smart Memory Controllers on Microsoft Azure M-series Virtual Machines Overcome the Memory Wall ↗Dated or announced (13)
Source: 2026-06-22 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Project and turbine order announced June 2026; plant not yet operating
Limits: Based on media reporting of a project announcement; does not establish contract value, delivery date, full turbine specification, or completion; third-party developer Chevron is also involved and is not a company on this map.
Microsoft and Chevron plan one of the largest gas-powered data center projects in US ↗Source: 2026-01-27 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported operating
Limits: Sourced to unnamed people familiar with the matter; neither SK hynix nor Microsoft has confirmed this on the record, and the 'sole supplier' characterization is reported, not stated by either company.
Microsoft Unveils Maia 200 AI Chip on TSMC 3nm; SK hynix Reportedly Sole HBM3E Supplier ↗Source: 2025-11-18 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Historical / announced
Limits: Does not establish Microsoft's resulting ownership percentage in Anthropic or that the full $5 billion has been disbursed.
Microsoft to invest $5B in Anthropic, as Claude maker commits $30B to Azure in new Nvidia alliance ↗Source: 2025-11-18 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Historical / announced
Limits: Does not establish that the $30 billion has been spent, only committed; Anthropic also runs substantial workloads on AWS and Google Cloud.
Microsoft to invest $5B in Anthropic, as Claude maker commits $30B to Azure in new Nvidia alliance ↗Source: 2025-11-03 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced
Limits: This confirms the announced scope and hardware type; it does not disclose the specific dollar value of the contract or the current deployment status of the GPUs.
Lambda Announces Multibillion-Dollar Agreement With Microsoft to Deploy AI Infrastructure Powered by Tens of Thousands of NVIDIA GPUs ↗Source: 2025-10-28 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Historical / announced
Limits: Does not establish that the $250 billion has been spent, only contracted; OpenAI now also sources compute from AWS, Oracle, Google Cloud and CoreWeave.
OpenAI completes for-profit move, Microsoft given 27% stake and $250bn Azure contract but no longer has cloud right of first refusal ↗Source: 2025-09-08 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Signed agreement, capacity ramp underway
Limits: The announcement discloses the existence and headline value of the deal; it does not itemize delivered hardware specifications or Microsoft's actual usage of the capacity to date.
Nebius announces multi-billion dollar agreement with Microsoft for AI infrastructure ↗Source: 2025-02-11 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Announced/in-progress contract transition (as of February 2025)
Limits: Describes a contract transition reported by trade press; does not establish the current 2026 status of the handover, final contract value actually paid, or the precise ongoing role Microsoft continues to play.
Anduril takes control of Microsoft's $22B VR military headset program ↗Source: 2024-11-04 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Historical / announced
Limits: Does not establish the contract's exclusivity or that the full $10 billion has been spent; the figure is a reported spending plan through the end of the decade, not confirmed directly by either company.
Microsoft to spend $10bn on CoreWeave by end of decade ↗Source: 2024-09-20 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Contract announced
Limits: The restart was targeted for 2027-2028 at signing; this is a long-term supply contract, not evidence of power currently flowing.
Constellation to launch Crane Clean Energy Center, restoring carbon-free power to the grid ↗Source: 2024-09-17 · reviewed 2026-09-21
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Founding partnership announced, September 2024
Limits: Figures are capital-mobilization targets, not amounts already deployed or contracted.
BlackRock, Global Infrastructure Partners, Microsoft, and MGX Launch New AI Partnership ↗Source: 2024-06-11 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Contract announced
Limits: Not evidence of exclusivity or the current full cloud contract.
OpenAI selects Oracle capacity through Azure ↗Source: 2022-06-16 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported operating
Limits: Does not name specific markets, deployment volumes, or confirm current operational status of the grid-interactive program; reported via trade press rather than a joint release.
Microsoft signs with Eaton for data center backup power that supports the grid ↗Comparisons (4)
Source: 2026-07-07 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Product/market overlap
Limits: An analyst framing rather than a statement by either company. It does not compare capacity, pricing or customers, and Microsoft separately hosts and sells SpaceXAI's Grok models on Azure.
SpaceXAI wants to compete on AI infrastructure, not just AI models ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Ongoing market competition
Limits: Reflects CrowdStrike's own marketing comparison; does not establish relative market share or independently verified performance claims.
Compare the CrowdStrike Falcon Platform vs. Microsoft ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Reported operating
Limits: Does not imply any commercial agreement, shared revenue, or relative market share; based on this research's comparison of each company's own product pages.
Amazon Bedrock ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Reported operating
Limits: Does not imply any commercial agreement between the companies or relative market share; based on this research's comparison of each company's own product announcements.
Ironwood TPUs and new Axion-based VMs for your AI workloads ↗Azure GPU virtual machines ↗
Reviewed
Inclusion in this database is not an endorsement of a company or its securities. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and none of it is individualized investment advice. See the disclosures. Data: AI Map v3.22, released .