COMPANIES · CHIP MFG & PACKAGING
SK hynix
In the AI Economy Index: overseas-only listing
Makes DRAM, NAND and high-bandwidth memory used in computing systems.
Makes DRAM, NAND and high-bandwidth memory used in computing systems.
It is one of a small number of suppliers of high-bandwidth memory (HBM), a component used in most modern AI accelerators.
Sells memory chips, including HBM used in AI accelerators, to chipmakers and system builders.
South Korea
Chip manufacturing, memory and packaging. The foundries, memory makers, and packaging and testing businesses that physically manufacture AI chips. This is where a chip design actually becomes a real, physical piece of silicon.
Our view would change if its share of HBM supply to NVIDIA were disclosed as falling. It would also change if the letters of intent in the SK Group–NVIDIA partnership did not become contracts. A change in its indirect interest in Kioxia, through a convertible bond in a Bain-led vehicle that owns Kioxia shares, would change it too.
Things anyone could observe that would change how this map describes the company. They are not forecasts, and they are not a view on the company's securities.
Connections (16)
Every connection below is tied to a readable source, date, classification and statement of its limits. A company source establishes what that company stated; it does not necessarily provide independent confirmation.
Current relationships (6)
Source: 2026-08-03 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Joint specification published
Limits: Establishes joint work on a published specification only; does not establish that HBF products are shipping, which company will manufacture them, or any commercial terms between the two.
Sandisk and SK hynix Advance Global Standardization of High Bandwidth Flash with Release of First OCP Technical Specification ↗Source: 2026-07-10 · reviewed 2026-09-27
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported holding; bonds not converted
Limits: An indirect interest: the bond converts into about 15.0% of a holding vehicle that owns Kioxia shares, not into Kioxia shares directly. Does not establish SK hynix's look-through percentage of Kioxia, board influence or any supply relationship.
SK hynix Inc. prospectus (Form 424B4), July 2026 ↗Source: 2024-11-18 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Company statement on receiving an award; does not establish order volumes, FormFactor's share of SK hynix's probe-card purchases, pricing or exclusivity.
FormFactor Receives SK hynix Best Partner Award ↗Source: 2023-04-17 · reviewed 2026-09-27
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Interoperability demonstration; does not establish production deployment or an ongoing commercial relationship. Page content was accessed via search indexing of Cadence's own press release title rather than a direct fetch, because cadence.com blocked live fetches in this session.
Cadence Demonstrates Interoperability with SK hynix's Highest Speed LPDDR5T Mobile DRAM at 9600Mbps ↗Source: 2023-04-04 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating (agreement term)
Limits: Patent license only; does not establish fees paid, product purchases, or use in any specific SK hynix AI memory product.
Rambus and SK hynix Extend Comprehensive License Agreement ↗Source: 2022-06-14 · reviewed 2026-09-27
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Describes tool selection for two process steps as of the 2022 announcement; does not establish current production volumes or exclusivity with Lam Research.
Lam Research Teams Up with SK hynix to Enhance DRAM Production Cost Efficiency with Breakthrough Dry Resist EUV Technology ↗Dated or announced (8)
Source: 2026-07-24 · reviewed 2026-09-27
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced / planned
Limits: Signed as letters of intent, not a finalized supply contract; the $500B+ figure covers the entire SK Group-NVIDIA partnership including AI-factory construction, not an amount specific to the SK hynix memory-supply piece.
SK Group and NVIDIA Expand Strategic Partnership Across AI Factories and Next-Generation Memory ↗Source: 2026-06-07 · reviewed 2026-09-27
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced partnership
Limits: A multiyear technology partnership that 'supports supply' of advanced memory; it discloses no volumes, prices or contract terms and is not itself a purchase order.
SK hynix and NVIDIA AI factory partnership ↗Source: 2026-04-16 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported but unconfirmed
Limits: Unconfirmed by Tesla or SK hynix and reported at second hand from Korean media with no named source. It does not establish memory type, volumes, contract value, or that SK hynix is the sole or continuing supplier.
Tesla AI5 Reportedly Uses SK hynix Memory, Samsung LPDDR5X; Samsung SF2T Process Applied Ahead of AI6 ↗Source: 2026-03-27 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Announced; completion not confirmed by this source
Limits: The investor named is Solidigm, an SK hynix subsidiary, not SK hynix itself; report of a subscription agreement that does not confirm delivery of shares or the current holding.
Nanya fundraising draws NT$78.72bn (Taipei Times) ↗Source: 2026-03-24 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Announced / planned
Limits: Order value and machine count (about 30 EUV systems) are as reported from a regulatory filing via press coverage; delivery runs through 2027 and is not yet complete, and the filing does not establish exclusivity with ASML.
SK hynix places record $8 billion order for ASML EUV lithography machines ↗Source: 2026-01-27 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported operating
Limits: Sourced to unnamed people familiar with the matter; neither SK hynix nor Microsoft has confirmed this on the record, and the 'sole supplier' characterization is reported, not stated by either company.
Microsoft Unveils Maia 200 AI Chip on TSMC 3nm; SK hynix Reportedly Sole HBM3E Supplier ↗Source: 2025-10-01 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced; not confirmed operating
Limits: A stated production target announced alongside letters of intent, not a purchase order. It does not establish that any wafers have been produced or delivered for Stargate, the price, the split between SK hynix and Samsung, or that the target has been met.
Samsung and SK join OpenAI's Stargate initiative to advance global AI infrastructure ↗Source: 2014-10-27 · reviewed 2026-09-27
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: A 2014 tool-adoption announcement; does not establish that SK hynix still uses this specific Synopsys tool today.
SK Hynix Accelerates Memory Development with Productivity-Enhancing Debug Apps on Synopsys Verdi ↗Comparisons (2)
Source: 2026-09-21 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Reported operating
Limits: Share and yield figures are as reported by this outlet, not disclosed directly by either company in the cited article.
Samsung Narrows HBM Gap With SK hynix to 17 Points ↗Source: 2025-04-13 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Reported operating
Limits: Share figures are as reported by this outlet, not company-disclosed, and describe 2024-2025 market share which may have shifted since.
Micron makes aggressive HBM push to challenge Samsung, SK ↗SK hynix investor relations ↗
Reviewed
Inclusion in this database is not an endorsement of a company or its securities. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and none of it is individualized investment advice. See the disclosures. Data: AI Map v3.25.43, released .