COMPANIES · CHIP MFG & PACKAGING

Samsung Electronics

In the AI Economy Index: overseas-only listing

Makes memory, storage and processor products and operates a semiconductor foundry.

EnablerChip mfg & packaging
What it does

Makes memory, storage and processor products and operates a semiconductor foundry.

Why it matters

It is a top global supplier of memory and also operates its own chip foundry, giving it exposure to both the memory and manufacturing layers of the AI stack.

How it makes money

Sells memory chips, storage and semiconductor foundry services.

Geography

South Korea

AI stack position

Chip manufacturing, memory and packaging. The foundries, memory makers, and packaging and testing businesses that physically manufacture AI chips. This is where a chip design actually becomes a real, physical piece of silicon.

What would change our view

Our view would change if its memorandum with Broadcom, valued at more than $200 billion, became, or failed to become, a signed contract. It would also change if NVIDIA or Samsung disclosed that Samsung's high-bandwidth memory had been qualified for, or dropped from, an NVIDIA platform. Its lead role in Mistral AI's €3 billion funding round turning into a disclosed commercial deal would change it too.

Things anyone could observe that would change how this map describes the company. They are not forecasts, and they are not a view on the company's securities.

Connections (31)

Every connection below is tied to a readable source, date, classification and statement of its limits. A company source establishes what that company stated; it does not necessarily provide independent confirmation.

Current relationships (13)

Samsung Electronics led a funding round in Mistral AI
Invested inCurrent
Samsung Electronics led Mistral AI's approximately €3 billion Series D funding round, valuing Mistral at over €21 billion (about $24 billion), alongside co-investors including Nvidia and Salesforce Ventures.

Source: 2026-09-08 · reviewed 2026-09-20

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Completed funding round as of announcement

Limits: Confirms Samsung led the round and the round's total size and valuation; does not establish Samsung's individual investment amount, resulting ownership percentage, or board rights.

Mistral raises €3B as sovereign AI becomes big business ↗
ASML plans High NA EUV adoption with Samsung Electronics
Partners withCurrent
ASML and Samsung announced an expansion of their long-standing strategic partnership; Samsung plans to introduce ASML's High NA EUV lithography into future DRAM high-volume manufacturing by 2028.

Source: 2026-09-08 · reviewed 2026-09-27

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Partnership described 8 September 2026; High NA EUV in DRAM high-volume manufacturing is a stated 2028 plan, not a completed purchase or supply contract.

Limits: Does not disclose order values or tool counts; it describes EUV use and planned High NA adoption, not a specific purchase contract.

Samsung Electronics and ASML Expand Collaboration on Next-Generation Semiconductor Manufacturing ↗
Samsung Electronics licenses RISC-V and AI IP from Tenstorrent
Uses technology fromCurrent
Tenstorrent says it licenses its TT-Ascalon RISC-V CPU and Tensix AI core IP to chip designers including Samsung and LG Electronics.

Source: 2026-06-30 · reviewed 2026-09-27

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating

Limits: Does not specify which Samsung products will incorporate the licensed IP, license fees, or timeline; this is separate from Samsung Electronics' existing equity investment in Tenstorrent.

Tenstorrent Sets New Performance Records, Launches TT-Ascalon S, and Expands Across Japan ↗
Samsung Electronics uses certified design tools and IP from Synopsys
Uses technology fromCurrent
Samsung Foundry and Synopsys announced expanded co-innovation across Samsung's 2nm-class, 4nm/5nm and 8nm/14nm process nodes, including AI-powered EDA tools, multiphysics signoff, interface IP and 3D multi-die hybrid copper bonding solutions, reporting up to 20% test-efficiency gains.

Source: 2026-05-28 · reviewed 2026-09-20

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Active, longstanding co-innovation partnership reaffirmed at SAFE Forum 2026

Limits: Describes a longstanding co-innovation partnership and specific process-node tool certification with quoted efficiency figures; does not disclose license revenue, exclusivity, or independently verify the 20% figure beyond the companies' own claim.

Synopsys Advances Power and Performance for AI and Multi-Die Designs on Latest Samsung Foundry Processes at SAFE Forum 2026 ↗
Samsung Electronics co-develops 2nm and 3D-IC design technology with Cadence Design Systems
Co-develops withCurrent
Cadence and Samsung Foundry deepened their collaboration on 2-nanometer and 3D-IC design technology to address surging AI-infrastructure and physical-AI demand.

Source: 2026-05-28 · reviewed 2026-09-22

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating

Limits: Describes an expanded design-technology collaboration; page content was accessed via search indexing of Cadence's own press release title rather than a direct fetch (cadence.com blocked live fetches in this session), and no financial terms or specific customer tape-outs are disclosed.

Cadence and Samsung Foundry Deepen 2nm and 3D-IC Collaboration to Meet Surging AI Infrastructure and Physical AI Demand ↗
Applied Materials co-develops advanced chip materials technology with Samsung Electronics
Partners withCurrent
Samsung Electronics joined Applied Materials' $5 billion EPIC Center in Silicon Valley as its first founding member, for joint R&D on advanced node scaling, future memory architectures and extreme 3D integration.

Source: 2026-02-11 · reviewed 2026-09-20

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Founding member of active joint R&D center

Limits: Confirms Samsung's founding membership and the R&D scope described; does not disclose Samsung's investment amount or any equipment purchase commitments tied to the center.

Applied Materials Announces Samsung Electronics Will Join the New, Multibillion-Dollar EPIC Center in Silicon Valley ↗
Applied Materials co-develops process materials technology with Samsung Electronics
Co-develops withCurrent
Samsung Electronics joined Applied Materials' new $5 billion EPIC Center in Silicon Valley as its first founding member, entering joint R&D programs on materials engineering for advanced-node scaling, future memory architectures and extreme 3D integration.

Source: 2026-02-11 · reviewed 2026-09-22

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating

Limits: Describes joint R&D program membership, not a specific equipment purchase order, Samsung's dollar commitment, or exclusivity versus other EPIC Center members.

Applied Materials Announces Samsung Electronics Will Join the New, Multibillion-Dollar EPIC Center in Silicon Valley ↗
Samsung Electronics invested in Skild AI
Invested inCurrent
Samsung was named among the strategic investors in Skild AI's reported 1.4 billion dollar funding round announced in January 2026.

Source: 2026-01-15 · reviewed 2026-09-24

Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported operating

Limits: Trade reporting of a funding announcement. It does not establish the amount invested, which Samsung entity invested, the stake acquired, or any product relationship.

Skild AI raises $1.4B, building 'omni-bodied' robot Skild Brain ↗
Samsung Electronics uses certified design tools and IP from Cadence Design Systems
Uses technology fromCurrent
Samsung Foundry and Cadence expanded a multi-year IP agreement covering memory/interface IP (LPDDR6/5x, GDDR7, DDR5, PCIe, UCIe, USB3.x) and digital/analog design tools certified for Samsung's SF4X, SF5A and SF2P process nodes.

Source: 2025-06-17 · reviewed 2026-09-20

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Active, multi-year IP and tool-certification agreement

Limits: Confirms tool/IP certification and joint optimization work described in the release; does not disclose license fees or which specific Samsung Foundry customers use these certified flows.

Cadence Accelerates SoC, 3D-IC and Chiplet Design for AI Data Centers, Automotive and Connectivity in Collaboration with Samsung Foundry ↗
Samsung Electronics supplies HBM3E memory to AMD
SuppliesCurrent
AMD confirmed that its Instinct MI350X and MI355X accelerators are powered in part by 12-layer HBM3E memory from Samsung Electronics, alongside Micron.

Source: 2025-06-13 · reviewed 2026-09-20

Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Active as of AMD's June 2025 confirmation

Limits: Based on media reporting of AMD's own public statement; does not disclose shipment volumes, pricing, or the relative split between Samsung and Micron as suppliers.

Samsung supplies HBM3E to AMD's new accelerators ↗
Nova co-authored metrology research with Samsung Electronics
Co-develops withCurrent
Nova said it and Samsung Electronics received SPIE's Vladimir Ukraintsev Award for Collaborations in Metrology, announced at SPIE Advanced Lithography 2025, for a co-authored paper on thickness monitoring using spectral interferometry, Raman spectroscopy and hybrid machine learning.

Source: 2025-03-18 · reviewed 2026-09-26

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Completed joint research paper (2025)

Limits: Shows a joint technical paper; does not establish that Samsung buys Nova's tools, in what volume, or any ongoing commercial agreement.

Nova Ltd. Form 6-K (Nova and Samsung receive SPIE collaboration award) ↗
Photronics supplies photomasks to Samsung Electronics
SuppliesCurrent
Photronics' fiscal 2024 annual report said Samsung Electronics accounted for about 12% of its revenue in 2024, 10% in 2023 and 11% in 2022.

Source: 2024-12-26 · reviewed 2026-09-26

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating through fiscal 2024

Limits: Historical revenue shares through fiscal 2024; the fiscal 2025 report does not name customers, so this does not establish the current share or which Samsung products the masks serve.

Photronics 2024 Annual Report and Form 10-K ↗
Lattice Semiconductor builds its Nexus FPGA platform on process technology from Samsung Electronics
Uses technology fromCurrent
Lattice said its Nexus FPGA platform is developed on Samsung's high-volume 28nm FD-SOI process technology.

Source: 2019-12-10 · reviewed 2026-09-26

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Platform launched December 2019; current status not confirmed

Limits: Describes the process used for one product platform at launch; does not establish volumes, pricing, whether Samsung makes Lattice's other products, or that the arrangement is unchanged.

Lattice Announces New Low Power FPGA Platform ↗

Dated or announced (14)

Samsung Electronics is negotiating to manufacture 2nm chips for Qualcomm
Manufactures forDated / announced
Qualcomm is reportedly negotiating with Samsung Foundry to produce application processors on Samsung's 2nm process, with production possibly slipping from 2026 into 2027 amid pricing disagreements; Samsung's 2nm yields reportedly exceed 70% as of mid-2026.

Source: 2026-09-11 · reviewed 2026-09-22

Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported talks

Limits: Describes ongoing negotiations, not a signed contract; timing and pricing remain unresolved, and the claim is sourced to a Korean outlet (The Bell) via trade press, not confirmed directly by Samsung or Qualcomm.

Samsung-Qualcomm 2nm Deal May Slip to 2027; Foundry Resists Lower Pricing as Process Stabilizes ↗
Samsung Electronics supplies HBM4E memory samples to OpenAI
SuppliesDated / announced
OpenAI's Korea general manager said Samsung Electronics is a joint production and research partner for OpenAI's next-generation custom AI chips, confirming Samsung will supply HBM4E memory samples and engage in joint R&D; neither company confirmed a logic-chip production contract.

Source: 2026-09-10 · reviewed 2026-09-22

Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Announced / planned

Limits: Samsung declined to confirm or deny customer-specific details; whether Samsung will manufacture OpenAI's logic chips (versus just supplying HBM samples) is unconfirmed and raised only as a possibility tied to Samsung's separate Broadcom foundry MOU.

OpenAI Adds Samsung Foundry to Its Silicon Program, Closing TSMC-Only Risk ↗
ASML expands EUV technology collaboration with Samsung Electronics
Partners withDated / announced
ASML and Samsung Electronics announced an expanded strategic collaboration including a joint industry initiative to move to 12-inch photomasks for High NA EUV, with Samsung planning to be first to apply High NA EUV in DRAM production by 2028.

Source: 2026-09-08 · reviewed 2026-09-20

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Collaboration expansion announced Sept 2026; DRAM High-NA EUV production is a stated 2028 target, not yet operating

Limits: Describes a joint technology roadmap and R&D announcement; does not disclose tool order volumes, pricing, or confirm the 2028 DRAM production target has been met.

Samsung Electronics and ASML Expand Strategic Collaboration for Next-Generation Semiconductor Manufacturing ↗
Samsung Electronics signs MOU to supply memory, foundry and packaging to Broadcom
SuppliesDated / announced
Samsung Electronics and Broadcom signed an MOU under which Samsung will supply HBM for Broadcom's next-generation AI accelerators, manufacture Broadcom wireless-communications chips on its 2nm-and-below foundry process, and provide 2.3D/2.5D advanced packaging, in a partnership valued at over $200 billion through 2030.

Source: 2026-07-25 · reviewed 2026-09-20

Evidence: Primary-source statement · MOU signed July 2026; deliveries and production phased through 2030, not yet a confirmed operating supply relationship

Limits: Reflects a signed MOU with a 2030 horizon; does not confirm that HBM shipments or foundry production for Broadcom have begun, nor how the $200B figure breaks down by year or product line.

Samsung Electronics and Broadcom Expand Strategic Collaboration Across Memory and Foundry Technologies ↗
Samsung Electronics will manufacture 2nm chips for Broadcom
Manufactures forDated / announced
Samsung Electronics and Broadcom signed an MOU valued at more than $200 billion across memory and foundry through 2030, under which Samsung's 2-nanometer-and-below foundry process would manufacture Broadcom products including wireless broadband communications solutions, alongside 2.3D/2.5D advanced packaging.

Source: 2026-07-25 · reviewed 2026-09-22

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced / planned

Limits: This is a memorandum of understanding, not a completed or binding supply contract; the $200B figure spans both memory and foundry over five years and is not a confirmed, itemized order.

Samsung Electronics and Broadcom Expand Strategic Collaboration Across Memory and Foundry Technologies ↗
Tesla buys chip-foundry manufacturing from Samsung Electronics
Buys fromDated / announced
Tesla's next-generation AI5 chip, intended for Full Self-Driving and Optimus, is reported to be fabricated at Samsung Foundry's Taylor, Texas plant on a 2nm process, per trade-press reporting citing foundry sources.

Source: 2026-07-13 · reviewed 2026-09-27

Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported tape-out / early production, 2026

Limits: Neither Tesla nor Samsung has issued an on-record joint statement confirming volumes, exclusivity, or contract terms; reporting rests on supply-chain and trade-press sources.

Samsung Foundry Unofficially Confirms Tesla AI5 Tape-Out, Production To Start Soon in Texas ↗
Samsung Electronics is reported to supply memory to Meta Platforms
SuppliesDated / announced
Reuters, citing an internal Meta memo, reported that Samsung supplies RAM for Meta's next-generation MTIA accelerator; Meta declined to comment.

Source: 2026-07-09 · reviewed 2026-09-24

Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported but unconfirmed

Limits: Neither Meta nor Samsung confirmed this. It does not establish the memory type or capacity, order volumes, contract value, or whether Samsung is one of several memory suppliers for the part.

Meta's new AI chips will begin production in September ↗
Samsung Electronics is in talks to manufacture future CPUs for AMD
Manufactures forDated / announced
AMD is reportedly in discussions with Samsung Electronics to manufacture certain future CPUs beginning in 2028, according to Nikkei Asia sourcing cited by trade press; no agreement has been finalized.

Source: 2026-06-17 · reviewed 2026-09-22

Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported talks

Limits: Preliminary, unconfirmed discussions per anonymous sourcing; not a signed agreement, and no process node, volume, or timeline beyond '2028' is confirmed.

Samsung Foundry Reportedly in Talks with AMD for 2028 CPU Production as BYD, Google Consider Its Services ↗
Samsung Electronics will fabricate AI6 chips for Tesla
Manufactures forDated / announced
Elon Musk said Tesla and Samsung signed a $16.5 billion agreement running through the end of 2033 under which Samsung will make Tesla's AI6 chip at its Taylor, Texas fab.

Source: 2025-07-28 · reviewed 2026-09-24

Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Announced; not confirmed operating

Limits: A contract announcement described by Musk on X. It does not establish that any AI6 wafers have been produced, that the $16.5 billion will actually be spent, what the per-unit economics are, or that Samsung is Tesla's only AI6 source.

Elon Musk says Tesla and Samsung have signed a $16.5 billion chip deal ↗
Samsung Electronics announced it would become largest shareholder of Rainbow Robotics
OwnsDated / announced
Samsung Electronics announced on 31 December 2024 that it would exercise a call option to raise its stake in Rainbow Robotics from 14.7 percent to 35 percent and treat the company as a consolidated subsidiary.

Source: 2024-12-31 · reviewed 2026-09-24

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced; not confirmed operating

Limits: This is an announcement of intent to exercise a call option. It does not establish that the transaction completed, the current shareholding, the price paid, or that any Samsung AI technology has been integrated into Rainbow Robotics products.

Samsung Electronics To Become Largest Shareholder in Rainbow Robotics ↗
Samsung Electronics invested in Groq
Invested inDated / announced
The same release names Samsung Catalyst Fund -- Samsung Electronics' strategic investment arm -- among the participants in Groq's $640 million Series D round.

Source: 2024-08-05 · reviewed 2026-09-22

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced

Limits: Investment was made through Samsung Catalyst Fund rather than Samsung Electronics' balance sheet directly; individual amount not disclosed. This is distinct from Samsung Electronics' separate foundry/manufacturing relationship with Groq.

Groq Raises $640M to Meet Soaring Demand for Fast AI Inference ↗
Samsung Electronics manufacturing Groq's next-generation LPU chips at Samsung Foundry Groq
Manufactures forDated / announced
Groq selected Samsung Foundry as its silicon manufacturing partner to produce Groq's next-generation LPU chips on Samsung's SF4X (4nm-class) process.

Source: 2023-08-15 · reviewed 2026-09-20

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Manufacturing agreement announced in 2023 as a forward-looking commitment; current production status not reconfirmed by a newer joint statement

Limits: The original announcement describes a forward-looking manufacturing commitment for next-generation chips; it does not by itself confirm current wafer volumes, exclusivity, or that production is presently active.

Groq Selects Samsung Foundry to Bring Next-gen LPU to the AI Acceleration Market ↗
Samsung Electronics invested in via Catalyst Fund Tenstorrent
Invested inDated / announced
Samsung's Catalyst Fund co-led, alongside Hyundai Motor Group, a $100 million strategic funding round in Tenstorrent announced in August 2023.

Source: 2023-08-02 · reviewed 2026-09-20

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Completed

Limits: This confirms one funding round co-led by Samsung's venture arm; it does not establish an ownership percentage, a supply relationship, or that Samsung Electronics as a whole has an operating partnership with Tenstorrent.

Tenstorrent Raises a $100M Strategic Up-round Co-led by Hyundai Motor Group and the Samsung Catalyst Fund ↗
Samsung Electronics fabricates AI chips for Baidu
Manufactures forDated / announced
Samsung Electronics was the foundry partner for Baidu's first-generation KUNLUN AI chip, using Samsung's 14nm process with I-Cube packaging, announced December 18, 2019 with mass production targeted for early 2020. This record does not establish whether Samsung remained Baidu's foundry for later Kunlun chip generations or that this specific relationship is still operating in 2026.

Source: 2019-12-18 · reviewed 2026-09-20

Evidence: Primary-source statement · Dated: first-generation Kunlun chip foundry announcement, December 2019; mass production targeted early 2020. Not confirmed as Baidu's current/sole foundry relationship.

Limits: Confirms Samsung as foundry for Baidu's first-generation Kunlun chip only (2019 announcement, 2020 production target). Does not establish whether Samsung remains Baidu's foundry for later Kunlun generations (Kunlun II, III), order volumes, contract value, or that this relationship is operating in 2026.

Baidu and Samsung Electronics Ready for Production of Leading-Edge AI Chip for Early Next Year (Samsung Newsroom, Dec 18, 2019) ↗

Comparisons (4)

Samsung Electronics competes with SK hynix
Competes withComparison only
Samsung narrowed its HBM market-share gap with SK hynix to 17 percentage points in Q2 2026 (from 37 points in Q1), as Samsung's HBM4 yields stabilized around 80%, intensifying direct competition between the two Korean memory makers.

Source: 2026-09-21 · reviewed 2026-09-22

Evidence: Analytical comparison · Reported operating

Limits: Share and yield figures are as reported by this outlet, not disclosed directly by either company in the cited article.

Samsung Narrows HBM Gap With SK hynix to 17 Points ↗
TSMC competes with Samsung Electronics
Competes withComparison only
TSMC and Samsung Electronics compete directly in advanced-node AI-accelerator foundry manufacturing; financial press analysis of Samsung's 2026 foundry push estimated TSMC holds roughly 95% of the AI-accelerator foundry market versus Samsung's 7-8%, with Samsung's 2nm yields (50-60%) still trailing TSMC's (80%+).

Source: 2026-07-30 · reviewed 2026-09-22

Evidence: Analytical comparison · Reported operating

Limits: Market-share and yield figures are this outlet's estimates, not disclosed by either company; does not establish exclusivity or predict the outcome of Samsung's competitive push.

Samsung's $200 Billion Broadcom Deal Is a Bid to Break TSMC's AI Foundry Lock ↗
Kioxia competes with Samsung Electronics
Competes withComparison only
TrendForce data for the third quarter of 2025 put Samsung first in NAND flash revenue share at 32.3% and Kioxia third at 15.3%.

Source: 2026-01-29 · reviewed 2026-09-26

Evidence: Analytical comparison · Product/market overlap

Limits: Research-firm market-share estimates for one quarter; does not establish head-to-head customer wins or current shares.

Second-Tier No More: Kioxia and SanDisk Balance Alliance and Rivalry in AI NAND Race ↗
Micron competes with Samsung Electronics
Competes withComparison only
Micron has pushed aggressively into HBM to challenge Samsung's market position, becoming the second HBM supplier after SK hynix to ship 12-layer HBM3E to NVIDIA and targeting roughly 20% HBM market share, up from about 5.1% in 2024.

Source: 2025-04-13 · reviewed 2026-09-22

Evidence: Analytical comparison · Reported operating

Limits: Share figures are as reported by this outlet, not company-disclosed, and describe 2024-2025 market share which may have shifted since.

Micron makes aggressive HBM push to challenge Samsung, SK ↗
Evidence for this profile

Samsung listing information ↗
Reviewed

Explore it interactively

Open this profile in the database See it on the relationship map

Inclusion in this database is not an endorsement of a company or its securities. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and none of it is individualized investment advice. See the disclosures. Data: AI Map v3.25.43, released .