COMPANIES · CHIP EQUIPMENT
Synopsys
Provides software and intellectual property used to design and verify chips and complex systems.
Provides software and intellectual property used to design and verify chips and complex systems.
Its chip-design software is used to design many of the advanced logic chips that power AI systems, including NVIDIA's.
Licenses electronic design automation (EDA) software and semiconductor IP to chip designers.
United States
Semiconductor manufacturing equipment. The highly specialized machines and design software used to create advanced chips in the first place. Without these tools, no chip maker in the world — including the ones building NVIDIA's chips — could produce anything.
Connections (12)
Every connection below is tied to a readable source, date, classification and statement of its limits. A company source establishes what that company stated; it does not necessarily provide independent confirmation.
Current relationships (10)
Source: 2026-07-27 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Active collaboration announced; AMD described as testing/evaluating the workflows, not yet full production deployment
Limits: Confirms AMD is testing these specific agentic workflows with an on-record AMD executive quote; does not establish exclusivity, contract value, or that AMD uses Synopsys tools for all of its chip designs.
Synopsys Advances Agentic AI Chip Design with AMD and Microsoft ↗Source: 2026-07-27 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: AMD describes this as active evaluation, not confirmed production deployment; no financial terms are disclosed.
Synopsys Advances Agentic AI Chip Design with AMD and Microsoft ↗Source: 2026-07-27 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Describes an evaluation-stage platform collaboration; does not disclose revenue, licensing terms, or production usage by Microsoft's own chip teams.
Synopsys Advances Agentic AI Chip Design with AMD and Microsoft ↗Source: 2026-07-27 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Certification and roadmap collaboration; Intel 14A is not yet in high-volume production, and no dollar figures are disclosed.
Synopsys and Intel Foundry Fast-Track Customer Readiness from Silicon to Systems on Intel 14A ↗Source: 2026-05-28 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Active, longstanding co-innovation partnership reaffirmed at SAFE Forum 2026
Limits: Describes a longstanding co-innovation partnership and specific process-node tool certification with quoted efficiency figures; does not disclose license revenue, exclusivity, or independently verify the 20% figure beyond the companies' own claim.
Synopsys Advances Power and Performance for AI and Multi-Die Designs on Latest Samsung Foundry Processes at SAFE Forum 2026 ↗Source: 2025-04-29 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Active, production-ready tool/IP qualification announced jointly by both companies
Limits: Confirms tool and IP qualification and alliance membership; does not disclose the volume or value of chips actually designed using these flows.
Synopsys and Intel Foundry Propel Angstrom-Scale Chip Designs on Intel 18A and Intel 18A-P Technologies ↗Source: 2023-03-21 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Describes a joint technology announcement, not a specific supply or licensing contract between ASML and Synopsys, and discloses no financial terms.
NVIDIA, ASML, TSMC and Synopsys Set Foundation for Next-Generation Chip Manufacturing ↗Source: 2022-03-30 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Describes a cloud-hosting and go-to-market partnership; does not disclose revenue share, contract length, or Azure capacity reserved for Synopsys Cloud.
Accelerate silicon design innovation on Azure with Synopsys Cloud ↗Source: 2021-05-26 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Certification of design tools for a process node does not indicate how many chips are actually taped out with these tools, deal value, or exclusivity versus other EDA vendors.
Synopsys Digital and Custom Design Platforms Certified for TSMC's Latest 3nm Process Technology ↗Source: 2014-10-27 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: A 2014 tool-adoption announcement; does not establish that SK hynix still uses this specific Synopsys tool today.
SK Hynix Accelerates Memory Development with Productivity-Enhancing Debug Apps on Synopsys Verdi ↗Dated or announced (1)
Source: 2024-03-18 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced plan
Limits: Does not prove this vendor designed NVIDIA chips.
NVIDIA Blackwell platform announcement ↗Comparisons (1)
Source: 2026-05-21 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Reported operating
Limits: Market-share figures are this analyst's estimates, not disclosed by either company, and describe a shifting competitive position rather than a fixed, verified share.
EDA Market Primer ↗Synopsys investor FAQ ↗
Reviewed
Inclusion in this database is not an endorsement of a company or its securities. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and none of it is individualized investment advice. See the disclosures. Data: AI Map v3.22, released .