COMPANIES · CHIP MFG & PACKAGING
TSMC
In the AI Economy Index: Major, 3.00% (as of 2 October 2026)
Manufactures semiconductors designed by customers and provides advanced packaging services.
Manufactures semiconductors designed by customers and provides advanced packaging services.
It is the primary manufacturer of the advanced logic chips (including NVIDIA's and most other AI accelerators) that the entire AI hardware stack depends on.
Manufactures chips designed by other companies (a 'foundry') and charges for wafer fabrication and packaging services.
Taiwan
Chip manufacturing, memory and packaging. The foundries, memory makers, and packaging and testing businesses that physically manufacture AI chips. This is where a chip design actually becomes a real, physical piece of silicon.
Our view would change if a major AI chip designer moved leading-edge production to another foundry on a disclosed schedule. It would also change if advanced-packaging capacity stopped being the stated bottleneck in TSMC's own reporting. A formal export or tariff measure that changes where its most advanced chips can be made or shipped would change it too.
Things anyone could observe that would change how this map describes the company. They are not forecasts, and they are not a view on the company's securities.
Connections (35)
Every connection below is tied to a readable source, date, classification and statement of its limits. A company source establishes what that company stated; it does not necessarily provide independent confirmation.
Current relationships (21)
Source: 2026-06-15 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating (fiscal 2026)
Limits: Does not establish wafer volumes, process nodes for each product, pricing, or Credo's share of TSMC capacity.
Credo Technology Group Holding Ltd Form 10-K for fiscal year ended May 2, 2026 ↗Source: 2026-05-21 · reviewed 2026-09-27
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Does not disclose wafer volumes, pricing or exclusivity, or which TSMC process each Instinct accelerator uses.
AMD announces production ramp of next-generation AMD EPYC processor Venice on TSMC 2nm process technology ↗Source: 2026-03-05 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported operating
Limits: Trade-press reporting rather than a direct statement from TSMC or Broadcom; no volumes, contract value, or product names are disclosed.
Broadcom-TSMC 3.5D AI chips give ASIC leader an early edge over Nvidia ↗Source: 2026-01-27 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported operating
Limits: Does not confirm order volumes or exclusivity; TSMC does not comment on individual customers, and Microsoft's own materials do not name the foundry.
Microsoft Unveils Maia 200 AI Chip on TSMC 3nm; SK hynix Reportedly Sole HBM3E Supplier ↗Source: 2025-11-26 · reviewed 2026-09-27
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: A supplier award establishes that TSMC buys from the company; it does not establish which products, order volumes, revenue share, exclusivity or how long the relationship continues.
TSMC 2025 Supply Chain Management Forum Presents Awards to Outstanding Suppliers ↗Source: 2025-11-26 · reviewed 2026-09-27
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: A supplier award establishes that TSMC buys from the company; it does not establish which products, order volumes, revenue share, exclusivity or how long the relationship continues.
TSMC 2025 Supply Chain Management Forum Presents Awards to Outstanding Suppliers ↗Source: 2025-11-26 · reviewed 2026-09-27
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: A supplier award establishes that TSMC buys from SCREEN's semiconductor equipment subsidiary; it does not establish which products, order volumes, revenue share, exclusivity or how long the relationship continues.
TSMC 2025 Supply Chain Management Forum Presents Awards to Outstanding Suppliers ↗Source: 2025-10-21 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported operating
Limits: Does not confirm volumes or exclusivity; TSMC does not comment on individual customers and this is based on supply-chain analyst reporting.
Google's First Arm-Based CPU Axion Reportedly Built on TSMC 3nm with GUC Design Support ↗Source: 2025-04-14 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Does not establish volumes, pricing or exclusivity.
NVIDIA US manufacturing announcement ↗Source: 2024-12-02 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: A supplier award establishes that TSMC buys from the company; it does not establish which products, order volumes, revenue share, exclusivity or how long the relationship continues.
TSMC 2024 Supply Chain Management Forum Presents Awards to Outstanding Suppliers ↗Source: 2024-12-02 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: A 2024 supplier award establishes that TSMC buys from Tokyo Electron; it does not establish which tools, order volumes, revenue share, exclusivity or how long the relationship continues.
TSMC 2024 Supply Chain Management Forum Presents Awards to Outstanding Suppliers ↗Source: 2024-03-27 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Establishes that tape-out began with TSMC as of March 2024. It does not establish the process node, volumes, pricing, that the chip reached volume production or flight, or that the relationship continues today; the source is more than two years old.
AST SpaceMobile ASIC Chip Enters Tape-Out Phase in Collaboration with TSMC ↗Source: 2024-01-30 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating in 2023; current status not confirmed
Limits: A 2023 supplier award; does not establish which products, volumes, revenue share, or that the relationship continues today.
MKS Instruments Recognized by TSMC for Outstanding Production Support ↗Source: 2023-11-30 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported operating
Limits: Does not confirm exact process node, order volumes, or a direct contractual relationship, since TSMC declined to comment on individual customers; attribution rests on supply-chain analyst reporting.
Amazon Unveils New AWS-Designed Chips, Boosting Orders for TSMC and ALCHIP ↗Source: 2023-03-21 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Does not disclose how broadly cuLitho has been deployed across TSMC's fabs, financial terms, or whether coverage now extends beyond the initially announced Hopper-generation production.
NVIDIA, ASML, TSMC and Synopsys Set Foundation for Next-Generation Chip Manufacturing ↗Source: 2022-07-14 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported operating
Limits: This reflects industry reporting on foundry allocation for specific chip generations; it does not prove TSMC manufactures all current Qualcomm products, since Qualcomm has also used Samsung Foundry for some chips, and neither company has published exhaustive volume or exclusivity details.
TSMC to exclusively manufacture next-gen Qualcomm Snapdragon flagship chips ↗Source: 2021-06-02 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Volume production reported June 2021; current status not confirmed
Limits: Covers two named processors as of 2021; does not establish how much of NXP's output TSMC makes today, volumes, or pricing.
NXP Ramps Automotive Processing Innovation with Two Processors on TSMC 16nm FinFET Technology (TSMC newsroom) ↗Source: 2021-05-26 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Certification of design tools for a process node does not indicate how many chips are actually taped out with these tools, deal value, or exclusivity versus other EDA vendors.
Synopsys Digital and Custom Design Platforms Certified for TSMC's Latest 3nm Process Technology ↗Source: 2020-08-25 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Describes a 2020 5nm-generation agreement; does not establish whether the same manufacturing arrangement covers Marvell's current 2nm custom-silicon designs.
Marvell and TSMC Collaborate to Deliver Industry's Most Advanced Data Infrastructure Portfolio on 5nm Technology ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Certification does not indicate specific customer tape-outs, revenue, or exclusivity between Cadence and TSMC; page content was accessed via search indexing rather than a direct fetch because cadence.com's robots rules blocked a live fetch in this session.
Cadence and TSMC Advance AI and 3D-IC Chip Design with Certified Design Solutions for TSMC's A16 and N2P Process Technologies ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Alliance membership only; does not establish which TSMC products ASE packages, volumes, or revenue from TSMC-related work. The page carries no date.
TSMC 3DFabric Alliance ↗Dated or announced (13)
Source: 2026-10-08 · reviewed 2026-10-09
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Agreement signed; volume production expected 1H 2028, not yet operating
Limits: Customer volumes, wafer pricing and annual run-rate were not disclosed. Lifecycle: agreement signed; volume production expected 1H 2028, not yet operating. The $2 billion figure appears in GF's own release subhead; the body does not break it into capex versus contract value. TSMC has not issued a matching English press release in the window we checked. Share-price moves excluded.
GlobalFoundries reaches agreement to establish U.S.-based supply of silicon interposers for advanced AI packaging ↗Source: 2026-08-24 · reviewed 2026-10-02
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported; not confirmed by either company
Limits: Anonymous-source report; Xiaomi and TSMC did not comment. Does not establish volumes, pricing, timing of shipments or that TSMC is the sole foundry.
TSMC to manufacture Xiaomi's new Xring chip — Reuters (The Edge Malaysia) ↗Source: 2026-08-05 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported plan; not confirmed by TSMC or ASE
Limits: Media report based on unnamed sources; not confirmed by either company and does not establish volumes, timing, pricing or which end customers' chips are involved.
TSMC Reportedly Expands Outsourcing of Key CoWoS Front-End Step to OSATs Amid Rising NVIDIA, ASIC Demand ↗Source: 2026-07-09 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported but unconfirmed
Limits: Based on an internal document rather than a statement by Meta or TSMC, and Meta declined to comment. It does not establish the process node, wafer volumes, contract value, or that production actually began on schedule.
Meta's new AI chips will begin production in September ↗Source: 2026-06-16 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced / planned
Limits: Does not disclose contract value, packaging volumes, or the share of TSMC's total advanced-packaging demand Amkor will fulfill; the Arizona facilities are still under development.
TSMC and Amkor Technology Announce Long Term Partnership to Accelerate Advanced Packaging in the United States ↗Source: 2026-04-16 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Announced; not confirmed operating
Limits: Tape-out is a design milestone, not production. This does not establish that TSMC has manufactured any AI5 volume, which TSMC fab or node will be used, the contract value, or how output will be split between TSMC and Samsung.
Tesla completes AI5 chip tape-out, to be manufactured by TSMC and Samsung ↗Source: 2024-12-02 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Supplier relationship documented
Limits: Supports a supplier relationship in 2024, not current contract terms, spend, exclusivity or dependency.
TSMC 2024 supplier awards ↗Source: 2024-12-02 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Supplier relationship documented
Limits: Supports a supplier relationship in 2024, not current contract terms, spend, exclusivity or dependency.
TSMC 2024 supplier awards ↗Source: 2024-12-02 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Supplier relationship documented
Limits: Supports a supplier relationship in 2024, not current contract terms, spend, exclusivity or dependency.
TSMC 2024 supplier awards ↗Source: 2024-12-02 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Supplier relationship documented
Limits: Supports a supplier relationship in 2024, not current contract terms, spend, exclusivity or dependency.
TSMC 2024 supplier awards ↗Source: 2024-04-08 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced April 2024; volumes not disclosed
Limits: Announcement of a capacity arrangement; does not establish volumes, pricing, which Microchip products are made there, or that the arrangement is unchanged today.
Microchip Technology Expands Partnership with TSMC to Strengthen Semiconductor Manufacturing Capacity ↗Source: 2024-02-22 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced February 2024; supply volumes not disclosed
Limits: Announcement of a capacity arrangement; does not establish volumes, pricing, which ADI products are made there, or that the arrangement is unchanged today.
Analog Devices Strengthens Capacity and Resiliency Through Expanded Partnership with TSMC ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported dual-sourcing plan, 2026
Limits: The dual-sourcing claim has not been confirmed directly by Tesla or TSMC in an on-record statement; volumes and timing are not established by this source.
Tesla Breaks the Foundry Monopoly: Dual-Sourcing AI5 Silicon Across TSMC and Samsung's U.S. Fabs for 2026 Global Ramp ↗Comparisons (1)
Source: 2026-07-30 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Reported operating
Limits: Market-share and yield figures are this outlet's estimates, not disclosed by either company; does not establish exclusivity or predict the outcome of Samsung's competitive push.
Samsung's $200 Billion Broadcom Deal Is a Bid to Break TSMC's AI Foundry Lock ↗TSMC investor FAQ ↗
Reviewed
Inclusion in this database is not an endorsement of a company or its securities. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and none of it is individualized investment advice. See the disclosures. Data: AI Map v3.25.43, released .