COMPANIES · CHIP EQUIPMENT
Cadence Design Systems
Provides design software for chips, electronic systems and digital twins.
Provides design software for chips, electronic systems and digital twins.
Alongside Synopsys, it is one of the two largest suppliers of the design software used to create advanced AI and computing chips.
Licenses EDA software and IP used to design chips and electronic systems.
United States
Semiconductor manufacturing equipment. The highly specialized machines and design software used to create advanced chips in the first place. Without these tools, no chip maker in the world — including the ones building NVIDIA's chips — could produce anything.
Connections (8)
Every connection below is tied to a readable source, date, classification and statement of its limits. A company source establishes what that company stated; it does not necessarily provide independent confirmation.
Current relationships (6)
Source: 2026-05-28 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Describes an expanded design-technology collaboration; page content was accessed via search indexing of Cadence's own press release title rather than a direct fetch (cadence.com blocked live fetches in this session), and no financial terms or specific customer tape-outs are disclosed.
Cadence and Samsung Foundry Deepen 2nm and 3D-IC Collaboration to Meet Surging AI Infrastructure and Physical AI Demand ↗Source: 2026-01-30 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Describes a technical IP-integration collaboration; does not disclose commercial terms or which shipping Micron products use this Cadence IP.
Advancing DLEP verification and compliance with Cadence Design Systems ↗Source: 2025-08-27 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Acquisition completed August 27, 2025
Limits: This acquisition covers only Arm's Artisan foundation IP business (standard cell libraries, memory compilers, general-purpose I/Os and its engineering team) -- confirmed complete August 27, 2025. It is NOT an acquisition of Arm Holdings as a company, a controlling stake in Arm Holdings, or any equity position in Arm Holdings; Arm Holdings continues to operate independently. The controlled relationship-type field 'Acquired' should be read together with this record's own verb and claim, not in isolation.
Cadence Completes Acquisition of Arm Artisan Foundation IP Business ↗Source: 2025-06-17 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Active, multi-year IP and tool-certification agreement
Limits: Confirms tool/IP certification and joint optimization work described in the release; does not disclose license fees or which specific Samsung Foundry customers use these certified flows.
Cadence Accelerates SoC, 3D-IC and Chiplet Design for AI Data Centers, Automotive and Connectivity in Collaboration with Samsung Foundry ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Certification does not indicate specific customer tape-outs, revenue, or exclusivity between Cadence and TSMC; page content was accessed via search indexing rather than a direct fetch because cadence.com's robots rules blocked a live fetch in this session.
Cadence and TSMC Advance AI and 3D-IC Chip Design with Certified Design Solutions for TSMC's A16 and N2P Process Technologies ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Interoperability demonstration; does not establish production deployment or an ongoing commercial relationship. Page content was accessed via search indexing of Cadence's own press release title rather than a direct fetch, because cadence.com blocked live fetches in this session.
Cadence Demonstrates Interoperability with SK hynix's Highest Speed LPDDR5T Mobile DRAM at 9600Mbps ↗Dated or announced (1)
Source: 2024-03-18 · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced plan
Limits: Does not prove this vendor designed NVIDIA chips.
NVIDIA Blackwell platform announcement ↗Comparisons (1)
Source: 2026-05-21 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Reported operating
Limits: Market-share figures are this analyst's estimates, not disclosed by either company, and describe a shifting competitive position rather than a fixed, verified share.
EDA Market Primer ↗Cadence company overview ↗
Reviewed
Inclusion in this database is not an endorsement of a company or its securities. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and none of it is individualized investment advice. See the disclosures. Data: AI Map v3.22, released .