COMPANIES · FOUNDATION MODELS
SpaceXAI (formerly xAI)
Develops Grok and operates AI infrastructure; xAI was acquired by SpaceX in 2026.
Develops Grok and operates AI infrastructure; xAI was acquired by SpaceX in 2026.
Its Grok models and Colossus supercomputer represent one of the largest single-company AI compute buildouts, now combined with SpaceX's balance sheet and infrastructure ambitions.
Develops and sells access to Grok AI models and related products; now part of SpaceX's combined business.
United States
Foundation models and AI laboratories. The organizations actually building the AI models themselves, like the systems behind ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini. This is the most crowded, fastest-moving layer of the AI economy right now.
Connections (23)
Every connection below is tied to a readable source, date, classification and statement of its limits. A company source establishes what that company stated; it does not necessarily provide independent confirmation.
Current relationships (15)
Source: 2026-09-03 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Public preview, not general availability. The post does not disclose commercial terms, where inference runs, customer volumes, or how long the arrangement lasts.
Grok 4.6 Now Available on Snowflake Cortex AI ↗Source: 2026-08-26 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: A product document. It does not disclose the revenue split between Microsoft and SpaceXAI, usage volumes, the length of the agreement, or whether Microsoft trains or fine-tunes anything. Several of the listed models are marked preview.
Deploy and use Grok models in Microsoft Foundry ↗Source: 2026-08-19 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: The post lists availability and list pricing only. It does not disclose the commercial split with AWS, which regions are covered, usage volumes, or whether SpaceXAI buys any compute from AWS in return.
Grok 4.6 on Amazon Bedrock ↗Source: 2026-08-14 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Cursor does not say which model weights, data or training runs were shared, how the work is split, or whether any jointly trained model has shipped to customers. It does not establish that Cursor has stopped using models from other suppliers.
Cursor is now a part of SpaceX ↗Source: 2026-06-18 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: The post does not name which Grok versions are offered, disclose commercial terms or revenue sharing, or establish how many Databricks customers use Grok. It does not show that Databricks provides compute to SpaceXAI.
Grok on Databricks ↗Source: 2026-05-06 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: A count published by the operator, not independently audited. Does not establish price, delivery dates, exclusivity, or the site's location -- the cited page does not name Memphis. Does not establish how many of the GPUs are in service at any given time.
New Compute Partnership with Anthropic ↗Source: 2026-05-01 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Reported operating
Limits: This is trade reporting of a regulatory filing rather than the filing itself. It does not establish the current market value of the stake, any lock-up terms, or that Tesla has made or committed to further investment.
Tesla (TSLA) reveals $573M web of transactions between Elon Musk's companies ↗Source: 2026-05-01 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Reported operating
Limits: This is trade reporting of a regulatory filing. It does not establish how many Megapack units were delivered, which sites they were installed at, unit pricing, or that the supply arrangement continues beyond the periods disclosed.
Tesla (TSLA) reveals $573M web of transactions between Elon Musk's companies ↗Source: 2026-02-02 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: The post is two sentences long. It does not state the price, the exchange ratio, the legal structure of the combination, or what share of the combined company former xAI holders received. SpaceX's S-1 separately describes the transaction as between entities under common control, which is an accounting characterization, not a valuation.
xAI joins SpaceX ↗Source: 2026-01-06 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: The announcement does not state how much NVIDIA put in, what ownership percentage it received, or what security it bought. It also does not say whether the position survived the February 2026 SpaceX combination in the same form.
Series E ↗Source: 2026-01-06 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: No amount, ownership percentage or security type is disclosed. The announcement does not establish that Cisco supplies networking equipment to SpaceXAI, only that its venture arm took part in the round.
Series E ↗Source: 2025-06-17 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Does not establish exclusivity or volumes; xAI/SpaceXAI also operates its own Colossus supercomputer and other infrastructure outside Oracle.
xAI's Grok Models are Now on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Page contains inconsistent GPU counts. No count is carried into the map.
Colossus infrastructure page ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Completed initial buildout; Supermicro-branded case study still published
Limits: Supermicro's case study describes the technical infrastructure it built for Colossus; it does not disclose contract value, exclusivity, or whether Supermicro continues to supply subsequent Colossus expansions.
xAI Colossus | Supermicro ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: The support page carries no publication date, so the date of this evidence cannot be fixed. It describes an in-car feature in beta and does not establish any payment between Tesla and SpaceXAI, the number of vehicles using Grok, or that Grok is used in Tesla's driving software.
Grok | Tesla Support ↗Dated or announced (5)
Source: 2026-01-06 · reviewed 2026-09-21
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Completed funding round, January 2026
Limits: xAI's announcement does not disclose individual investors' specific check sizes.
xAI raises $20B Series E ↗Source: 2025-05-06 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Announced; not confirmed operating
Limits: An announcement from 2025, before the SpaceX combination. It does not establish that any customer was signed, any revenue was earned, or that the arrangement is still active under SpaceXAI.
Musk's xAI joins TWG Global, Palantir for AI push in financial sector ↗Source: 2025-04-03 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Ended (per reporting)
Limits: Does not establish the exact end date, the reason for the change, or whether any technology relationship continues in reduced form; neither company issued a detailed public statement confirming the reporting.
Elon Musk's xAI no longer working with German startup Black Forest Labs ↗Source: 2025-03-19 · reviewed 2026-09-21
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Joined as member, March 2025
Limits: The announcement does not describe xAI as a capital investor in the partnership.
BlackRock, GIP, Microsoft and MGX Welcome NVIDIA and xAI to AIP ↗Source: 2025-02-14 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Secondary reporting (unconfirmed by primary parties) · Reported as advanced talks, not a finalized/confirmed contract, as of the report
Limits: Based on Bloomberg sourcing describing the deal as still being negotiated; does not confirm final contract signing, delivered volume, or final dollar value.
Musk's xAI considering second data center, $5bn Dell server deal ↗Comparisons (3)
Source: 2026-07-07 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Product/market overlap
Limits: A market-overlap comparison drawn from trade analysis, not from either company. It does not measure relative market share, revenue, model quality or customer switching, and neither party has stated that it competes with the other.
SpaceXAI wants to compete on AI infrastructure, not just AI models ↗Source: 2026-07-07 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Product/market overlap
Limits: Market overlap only. The two also have a large commercial supply relationship, which this row does not describe. It does not measure share, revenue or customer switching between them.
SpaceXAI wants to compete on AI infrastructure, not just AI models ↗Source: 2026-07-07 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Analytical comparison · Product/market overlap
Limits: Market overlap only, drawn from trade analysis. Google is simultaneously one of SpaceX's largest compute customers, which this row does not describe, and no share or revenue comparison is made.
SpaceXAI wants to compete on AI infrastructure, not just AI models ↗xAI joins SpaceX ↗
Reviewed
Inclusion in this database is not an endorsement of a company or its securities. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and none of it is individualized investment advice. See the disclosures. Data: AI Map v3.22, released .