COMPANIES · AI CHIPS & NETWORKING
Cisco Systems
In the AI Economy Index: Major, 1.46% (as of 2 October 2026)
Makes networking hardware and software, including switches and routers used to connect servers inside data centers.
Makes networking hardware and software, including switches and routers used to connect servers inside data centers.
AI data centers depend on extremely high-bandwidth internal networking, and Cisco has repositioned its switching portfolio around NVIDIA's AI networking standards.
Sells networking hardware, software and services to enterprises, service providers and data-center operators.
United States
AI chips and networking. The companies designing the processors, accelerators and networking equipment that do the actual computing behind AI, including GPUs like NVIDIA's, and the high-speed connections that link thousands of them together.
Same-layer peers share an editorial stack classification; that alone does not establish direct competition.
Connections (11)
Every connection below is tied to a readable source, date, classification and statement of its limits. A company source establishes what that company stated; it does not necessarily provide independent confirmation.
Current relationships (7)
Source: 2026-08-25 · reviewed 2026-09-20
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Newly announced, current three-way go-to-market partnership
Limits: Confirms a joint go-to-market and technical partnership; does not disclose revenue, deployment volumes, or customer commitments.
Cisco Expands Secure AI Factory with NVIDIA for the Rack-Scale Era ↗Source: 2026-08-21 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Establishes participation in a funding round by Cisco's investment arm. It does not establish the size of the stake, any board seat, or any commercial or product relationship between Cisco and Starcloud.
Starcloud Raises $250 Million at $2.3 Billion Valuation to Scale AI with Orbital Data Centers ↗Source: 2026-08-18 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating (fiscal 2026)
Limits: Does not establish which products Fabrinet builds for this customer, contract terms, exclusivity, or future volumes.
Fabrinet Form 10-K for fiscal year ended June 26, 2026 ↗Source: 2026-06-16 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: Does not establish number or location of deployed sites, financial terms, or exclusivity; NVIDIA supplied only reference architectures to the collaboration.
Equinix Collaborates with Cisco and NVIDIA to Deploy Secure AI Factories Across Global Data Center Footprint ↗Source: 2026-01-06 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Reported operating
Limits: No amount, ownership percentage or security type is disclosed. The announcement does not establish that Cisco supplies networking equipment to SpaceXAI, only that its venture arm took part in the round.
Series E ↗Source: 2024-11-13 · reviewed 2026-09-27
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Completed minority investment, made before CoreWeave's 2025 IPO
Limits: Establishes that Cisco Investments took part in CoreWeave's November 2024 secondary sale and holds a stake (also shown on the Cisco Investments portfolio page: https://www.ciscoinvestments.com/portfolio/coreweave). The roughly $23 billion valuation is press reporting only (DatacenterDynamics, 4 Oct 2024, citing Bloomberg: https://www.datacenterdynamics.com/en/news/cisco-to-invest-in-coreweave-at-23bn-valuation-report/) and was not confirmed by either company. The size of Cisco's stake and its ownership percentage are not disclosed.
CoreWeave Expands Investor Base with $650 Million Secondary Sale ↗Source: Source undated · reviewed 2026-09-17
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Product documented
Limits: Product/solution documentation; does not establish purchase volume, exclusivity or which customers have deployed it.
Cisco AI networking for data center with NVIDIA Spectrum-X ↗Dated or announced (4)
Source: 2026-03-27 · reviewed 2026-09-26
Evidence: Secondary reporting of an on-record executive statement · Announced; completion not confirmed by this source
Limits: Report of a subscription agreement; does not confirm that the shares were delivered, the current holding, or any board influence.
Nanya fundraising draws NT$78.72bn (Taipei Times) ↗Source: 2025-11-20 · reviewed 2026-10-02
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced; not confirmed operating
Limits: Research plan with target dates; does not establish that any network has been built or any commercial terms.
IBM and Cisco Announce Plans to Build a Network of Large-Scale, Fault-Tolerant Quantum Computers ↗Source: 2025-05-22 · reviewed 2026-09-24
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced; not confirmed operating
Limits: A consortium announcement with a capacity target. It does not establish that any Cisco equipment has been ordered or installed, the contract value, or that the 200 MW first phase was delivered.
Cisco Joins Stargate UAE Initiative ↗Source: 2024-08-05 · reviewed 2026-09-22
Evidence: Primary-source statement · Announced
Limits: Does not disclose Cisco's individual investment amount; a separate law-firm summary describes Cisco Investments as also participating in Groq's later Series E.
Groq Raises $640M to Meet Soaring Demand for Fast AI Inference ↗Cisco AI networking for data centers with NVIDIA Spectrum-X ↗
Reviewed
Inclusion in this database is not an endorsement of a company or its securities. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell anything, and none of it is individualized investment advice. See the disclosures. Data: AI Map v3.25.43, released .